Lions scrape home

Josh Wilson’s 32nd-minute penalty settled the outcome of this uninspiring clash at Nethernoor, the only other incident of note being the dismissal of Solihull defender Stuart Pierpoint following his second booking midway through the second period.

The visitors started strongly, and the Lions had Mark Bower to thank for clearing from under his own bar early on whilst at the other end Phil Marsh’s shot was fumbled by Jasbir Singh with the home side having no-one on hand to take advantage. Then Andy Holdsworth was bundled over in the area, though the home side’s appeals were in vain. However, there was no doubt about Dominic Langdon’s unceremonious push on Josh Wilson a few minutes later, and the Guiseley striker himself sent Singh the wrong way from the resultant spot kick.

Having been cautioned early in the second half for a foul on Andy Holdsworth, Pierpoint did himself no favours later on with his late tackle on Meynell, trudging off to the dressing room as referee Dermott reached for his red card. Guiseley nearly doubled their lead shortly afterwards when Wayne Brooksby’s shot was parried and Danny Spencer’s clearance hit fellow defender Karl Broadhurst before being hoofed to safety.

It was only when the Lions brought on midfielder Jake Lawlor on the hour that the midfield gained some composure. They finally began to probe the Moors’ fragile-looking defence, their cause being eventually aided and abetted by the pace of youngster Zack Dale, who joined the fray with ten minutes remaining.

Entertainment value: *

Star man: Danny Ellis (Guiseley)

Scorers: Guiseley – J Wilson (pen, 32)

Teams: Guiseley – Drench; Hardy, Meynell; Rea, Ellis, Bower (Captain); M Wilson (McWilliams, 78), Holdsworth, Marsh (Lawlor, 61), Brooksby (Dale, 81), J Wilson.  Subs not used: Pearson, Giles.

Solihull Moors – Singh; Pierpoint, Langdon; Denny (Birch, 64), Broadhurst (Captain) (Connolly, 83), Spencer; Angus (Knights, 74), Fleet, Bogle, English, Beswick.  Subs not used: Hayden, Acton.

H/T 1-0

Att: 512

Referee: Philip Dermott