Lions denied by last gasp winner

Guiseley were denied a share of the spoils at Nethermoor this evening by a wonder strike from Paul Rutherford with just seventeen seconds left on the clock.

This after Michael Rankine had given the home side an early lead only to see the visitors reply with a penalty from John Rooney and a Gerry McDonough header.

Jake Lawlor then looked to have given the Lions a deserved share of the points before Rutherford crashed home the winner.

The Lions gave a start to new signing Dave Syers in midfield but it was Wrexham who started on the offensive with a couple of early efforts. But when they conceded a free kick twenty yards on eleven minutes Will Hatfield pushed the ball into the path of Rankine and his powerful shot left Christopher Dunn grasping at thin air.

The Welshmen continued to look dangerous on the break and Ash Palmer produced a timely clearance but a handball in the Guiseley area presented Wayne Rooney’s brother John with the chance to equalise from the spot, which he duly took.

Daniel Atkinson then pushed a Sean Newton shot on the bar and just before the break Oli Johnson set up Hatfield only to see him crowded out by a posse of defenders.

Rankine put a header just wide after the restart and McDonagh was just off target with a glancing header at the other end but the same player made no mistake when he headed home Barry’s lofted cross after 66 minutes.

Mark Bower rang the changes shortly after as Adam Boyes, Adam Smith and Jordan Preston replaced Oli Johnson, Rankine and debutant David Syers.

Rooney nearly grabbed a second as he curling shot over the angle before Preston’s cross found Smith in a good position but his header was wise of the target.

However, the Lions pressure eventually paid dividends with six minutes remaining when an Ash Palmer header caused consternation in the visitors six-yard box and when the ball was played back across the area Jake Lawlor tapped the loose ball home.

Then with the clock counting down Paul Rutherford unleashed a rasping shot from the left channel that flew into the top corner in the fourth minute of added time to take the points back to Wales.


17          Daniel Atkinson

6            Jake Lawlor

5            Adam Lockwood

15          Ash Palmer

23          Danny East

8             Will Hatfield

4             Javan Vidal

10          Oli Johnson (Preston)

20          Marcus Williams

11          Michael Rankine (Boyes)

14          David Syers (Smith)

Subs:     Subs:

1             Tim Deasy

7             Adam Smith

9             Adam Boyes

19          Jordan Preston

25          Rob Atkinson


Next Up:

3:00 pm
Pre-Season Friendly

Guiseley vs Leeds United U21s