Wasteful Guiseley gift Ferriby their first win

Seeking their first points against a North Ferriby side that had scored just one goal and conceded  eight before this evenings game the Lions got off to the worst possible start gifting the home side two goals in the first twenty three minutes.

The first came as Simon Russell was allowed to advance down the left channel and put in a cross that  Jake Lawlor inexplicably alowed to run to Ryan Kendall who had the easiest of conversions with just six minutes on the clock.

Ferriby doubled their advantage twenty minutes later as Lawlor directed his header into the path of Emerson who gleefully shot past Atkinson for the second.

As the shell shocked visitors started to provide some assemblance of teamwork Oli Johnson shot over and Adam Smith’s shot lacked power.

But they finally got some reward just before the half hour when Johnson beat the last man and advanced to shoot wide of Rory Watson to halve the deficit.

The Lions virtually laid siege to the home goal on the restart with a succession of corners but to no avail. The nearest they came being Smiths shot-cum-cross being tipped over by Watson and Jordan Preston setting up Johnson who blazed over. And in a rare foray into Guiseley territory Ferriby brought two good saves in quick succession from Daniel Atkinson.

Manager Mark Bower looked to freshen things up as Adam Boyes, Javan Vidal and Danny Boshell replaced Rankine, Lawlor and Smith and it almost paid off as Preston’s low shot flew the wrong side of the post after some good approach work.

Danny East pulled one wide and Johnson had one cleared off the line by Jake Skelton before Boyes header created mayhem in the home defence allowing Johnson the space to turn and shoot past Watson to square matters.

Still pressing for a winner the Lions were undone by an attempted clearance that ricocheted of Russell’s legs to give Ferriby the victory and leave the Lions rock bottom of the table.

Mark Bowers reaction to the defeat


17 Daniel Atkinson

6 Jake Lawlor (Vidal)

7 Adam Smith (Boshell)

8 Will Hatfield

10 Oliver Johnson

11 Michael Rankine (Boyes)

15 Ash Palmer

10 Jordan Preston

20 Marcus Williams

23 Danny East

25 Rob Atkinson


12 Tim Deasey

4 Javan Vidal

5 Adam Lockwood

9 Adam Boyes

13 Danny Boshell