Lions miss a feast

Wasteful Guiseley missed not only the opportunity of three easy points, but also the chance to improve the goal difference against what is probably the worst side seen at Nethermoor this season. Relegation threatened Stafford Rangers had little to offer up front and even less at the back apart from captain Jermane Johnson.

The Lions got off to the best possible start with James Walshaw’s goal after just twelve minutes when a free kick from the left was headed on by the two Simon’s, Baldry and Ainge, and even though the striker mishit his shot it went wide of Lee Evans in the visitors goal.

So far so good one might have thought but instead of maintaining their opening momentum the home side hit a series of long balls to no one in particular and  squandered several good positions with some ill-judged passes. Still only trailing by a single goal Rangers should have been level right on th break but Tyree Clarke allowed Steven Drench to save at the second attempt after he hade been put through in a 1-on-1 with the keeper.

The home side came out fired up after the beak and very quickly forced Evans into a good double save from Walshaw and O’Neill before the former his the post from the Resulting corner. Evans also did well to push another Walshaw effort round the post shortly afterward. And despite brining on Darryn Stamp, Luke Sharry and Gavin Rothery the Lions paid the price with four minutes to go when an astute ball from the left found Andre Francis at the far post to shoot across Drench for the equalizer.

With Telford drawing at Harrogate and Blyth’s game being postponed the Lions are perhaps fortunate not to have lost too much ground after tonight’s draw but with the next two games against Solihull and Alfreton they are going to have to deliver far more convincing performances than they did this evening if the push for a play-off place is to be maintained.


  1. Steven Drench
  2. Ryan Toulson
  3. Dave Merris
  4. Warren Peyton (Rothery  79)
  5. Danny Ellis
  6. Simon Ainge
  7. Danny Forrest (Stamp 66)
  8. Simon Baldry
  9. Joe O’Neill
  10. James Walshaw 12
  11. Danny Boshell (Sharry 59)
  12. Darryn Stamp
  13. Gavin Rothery
  14. Luke Sharry
  15. Jake McEneaney
  16. James Coates

Next Up:

7:45 pm
Pre-Season Friendly

Avro vs Guiseley