Drab Defeat For Lions Dylan Delight For Holy Blues

Guiseley were left to rue a missed penalty as Gainsborough Trinity’s late winner gave the visitors all three points at Nethermoor, writes David Bridson.

Tom Denton struck the right hand post in the 49th minute after Kofi Moore was hauled down by George Hornshaw in the box. Trinity’s Dylan Cogill fired home a free header in the 89th minute via a Bobby Johnson free kick to hand the away side victory.

Both sides were ineffective during a poor first half but Ollie Battersby did well to palm a Danny Devine header over the bar in the 26th minute.

Kofi Moore weaved past several defenders to force a corner in the 38th minute but Denton headed over the bar from the resulting set piece.

Gainsborough goalkeeper Dylan Wharton tipped man of the match Aiden Walker’s effort round a post during first-half added time.

Bookings for Lions captain Liam Tongue and Gainsborough’s Declan Howe highlighted both teams frustration at failing to find the net during an improved second half.

Andy Welsh sent on Kallan Murphy, Leigh Whelan and Jordi Nsaka at different stages of the half in a bid to win the match but Guiseley were unable to score.

Moore’s shot flew over in the 66th minute shortly before Lewis Butroid hit a volley straight at Battersby.

Jameel Ible and Walker made several vital defensive blocks throughout to keep Trinity at bay.

After the resliant Guiseley defence was finally breached by Cogill the opposition saw the game out with effective game management. The result left leave The Lions lamenting a missed opportunity to climb the table.

Guiseley next face Bamber Bridge at 3pm on Saturday 13th January at Nethermoor.

Guiseley 0-1 Gainsborough Trinity | Monday 6th January 2024 | Nethermoor

Attendance: 629

Team: 1. Ollie Battersby, 2. Josh Ashman, 3. Reece Kendall, 4. Prince Ekpolo, 5. Aiden Walker, 6. Jameel Ible, 7. Kofi Moore, 8. Liam Tongue (C) (82′ Whelan), 9. Tom Denton (70′ Murphy), 10. Gabriel Johnson and 11. Abimbola Obasoto (85′ Nsaka).

Subs: 12. Kallan Murphy, 14. Leigh Whelan, 15. Callum Chippendale, 16. Jordi Nsaka and 17 Jack Mason.

Next Up:

7:45 pm
Pre-Season Friendly

Avro vs Guiseley