Dour Draw Makes It Seven Unbeaten On The Road


The Lions extended the unbeaten run on the road to seven games after a dour draw at Brackley Town. 

In a game of few chances Aaron Martin was dismissed ten minutes from time for a second bookable offence leaving his side a man down in the closing stages.

The hosts had the first chance of the game through their captain Gareth Dean, his header though sailed well over the bar and was no trouble for Marcus Dewhurst.

Kaine Felix was causing The Saints all sorts of problems with his pace and won a free kick on the edge of the area but Brad Nicholson’s effort flew out the ground from a dangerous position.

The first half petered out with little goalmouth action for either side, Danny Lewis in the Brackley net was yet to be tested.

Substitute Tendai Daire had the first chance of the second 45 but once again the effort was wide of the mark.

Hamza Bencherif got a vital block on Shane Byrne’s effort which looked to be going on target, the resulting corner came to nothing as a The Lions cleared the danger.

Dean lead a counter attack for the visitors and looked to have scored to finish off his mazy run but Dewhurst did well to save his low effort, Daire then had a golden opportunity on the rebound from four yards out but shot wide when it looked easier to score.

Lee Shaw, introduced for Felix 10 minutes earlier, forced Lewis into a save on the 80th minute, his low shot looked to have wrong footed to keeper but he did well to keep a hold of the ball.

Then a minute later Martin was sent off for his second booking in what looked to be an off the ball incident with the attacker now set to serve a two game ban.

Dewhurst made two saves in injury time to preserve his clean sheet and continue the away unbeaten run which started in November.

Attendance: 590


1. Marcus Deshurst

2. Reiss McNally

3. Brad Nicholson

4. Andrai Jones

5. Hamza Bencherif

6. Kennedy Digie

7. Kaine Felix (70’ Lee Shaw)

8. George Cantrill

9. Aaron Martin

10. Aram Soleman (63’ Prince Ekpolo)

11. Gabriel Johnson


12. Lee Shaw

14. Prince Ekpolo

15. Dylan Barkers

16. Nathan Newall

17. Harrison Sheppeard