Tue 09 Nov Workington 0-1 Guiseley

Walshaw strike proves decisive

On a clear but cold night at Borough Park the Lions became the first team to play under the new floodlights which replace the original pylons that were bought from Manchester United back in 1958 and it has to be said that they still appear to need some adjustment with several uneven pools of light distributed across the playing area.

Danny Boshell and Darryn Stamp returned to the Guiseley line up in place of Luke Sharry and Gavin Rothery who both dropped to the bench.

The Lions made the running for much of the first twenty minutes and it was no surprise when Walshaw exchanged passes with Liam Needham on the edge of the area and the latched on to the midfielders judicious though ball to hold of his marker and put the ball beyond Aaran Taylor from the angle of the six yard box.

Stamp was inches away from doubling the advantage but was just short of connecting with Ryan Toulson inviting cross as the lively home attack lead by Gareth Arnison and Ryan Bowman tested the visitors back line which held firm until the break with Steven Drench making a decisive intervention to deny the Reds best chance.

The situation remained much the same in the second period as the Reds went all out for an equaliser with the Lions looking to hit them on the break. Despite a tremendous amount of pressure the back four of Toulson, Danny Ellis, Simon Ainge and Dave Merris held firm with some superb tackling and up the other end the introduction of the battling Matty James proved to be a handful for the home defence.

Having said that the only clear opening fell to Walshaw, who again held did well to hold off his marker but could only put his half chance just the wrong side of the post.

Referee Mr Gittins hardly endeared himself to the Lions fans with bookings for Stamp, Ainge and Boshell for what looked like a series of innocuous challenges but went from zero to hero when he disallowed the home sides last gasp equaliser for a foul on Steven Drench.

1. Steven Drench
2. Ryan Toulson
3. Dave Merris
4. Danny Ellis
5.Simon Ainge
6. Warren Peyton (Sharry)
7. Danny Boshell
8. Joe O’Neill
9. Darryn Stamp (James)
10. James Walshaw
11. Liam Needham
12. Matty James
14. Gavin Rothery
15. Luke Sharry
16. Jez Fitzgerald
17. David Scarsella

Next Up:

3:00 pm
Pre-Season Friendly

Guiseley vs Huddersfield Town